Recreational marijuana use recently became legal in Massachusetts. If you’re at least 21 years old, you’re permitted to possess up to one ounce of marijuana or five grams of concentrate outside of your home (and more inside: up to 10 ounces, which applies if you’re renting a condo here).
If you want to purchase marijuana here you’ll need to show a photo ID to prove yyou’re at least 21 years old. You are only permitted to consume it inside a private residence, so use your discretion—and be discreet.
It’s important for you to know that Herring Cove and Race Point aren’t part of Provincetown: they both belong to the Cape Cod National Seashore, and so they’re considered federal property and Massachusetts’ marijuana laws don’t apply there. There’s no federal law legalizing its use, so if you’re arrested out there you’ll be facing federal, rather than state and local, charges.
Finally, be careful if you’re going to be driving. There’s no breathalyzer test for marijuana (yet!) but police in the Commonwealth have been instructed to use their best judgment in assessing whether or not you’re impaired. If they decide you are, then you can get the same OUI you’d get for drunk driving.