From Acting Provincetown Town Manager, David Gardner
Under the medicinal marijuana statute, which went into effect in 2013, qualifying patients 18 years of age or older with certain debilitating medical conditions can possess and use marijuana if they have a physician certification. Without the necessary paperwork for medicinal marijuana, the possession of medical marijuana in Massachusetts is against the law.
The amount of medical marijuana a patient may purchase in Massachusetts is currently limited to a 60 day supply of up to 10 ounces from a dispensary with each prescription. Patients might be able to purchase more if their doctor deems it medically necessary.
Under Massachusetts' new recreational cannabis laws, adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to possess up to one ounce of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate outside of their residence and up to ten ounces of marijuana inside their residence. Additionally, adults may possess and cultivate up to 6 marijuana plants with a maximum of 12 per household.
Marijuana Establishments may not sell more than one ounce of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate to a consumer per transaction.
Edible marijuana can take up to as much as 1.5 hours to take effect and the dosing may be different based on the individuals tolerance or other factors, so users should avoid consuming multiple doses of edible marijuana products within that timeframe.